[Review] MakeOver: Eyeshadow (1) – Emperor Brown, Indian Summer

SONY DSC
Every girl would never have enough neutral eye shadows don’t you think so? Although you already have one, you just gotta have another one, and another one. And it’s true :P hehe.. Now it’s time to review two Trivia Eye Shadow by MakeOver: Emperor Brown and Indian Summer. There will be a second part of this review for the remaining two sets of eye shadows that I have. If I put them all together in one post, the title will be very long. And I do care a lot about my blog’s appearance, long titles seems awkward :P

SONY DSC

At first I was eyeing on their eye shadows but still wasn’t sure which shade I wanted to try. Surprisingly, I received three MakeOver single eye shadows in my Lola Box last month. They were sooo good and I instantly thought, “I should have another one right away” and ended up buying three trios haha

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Packaging
i hope you understand my love-hate relationship with this packaging (see this review for more details). It’s the same with their blushes am I right? Anyway, overall I really like it because it looks very stylish and professional for a local brand. And… Oh! I think I forgot to photo the sponges -_-a sorry. Actually they’re very nice for sponges that comes with the eyeshadow. I definitely prefer this than sponges in Revlon, Wet n’ Wild, Sariayu and La Tulipe eyeshadows.

Color, Texture, and Finish
First of all, please indulge yourself with this video:

Indian Summer
SONY DSC
Toast. Rich Brown. Vibrant.
Toast & Rich Brown: Satin finish.
Vibrant: Matte with sparkles.
In that video, Lizzie Parra -the makeup artist- used Indian Summer set. I read a couple of review about Indian Summer but I wasn’t interested enough until I visited the MakeOver Store. When I was swatching here and there, there’s this one particular color in the middle of Indian Summer set that captured my eyes. At that moment I instantly adore it. I thought it was an unusual weird dark purple, but it turns out that it’s actually a color named Rich Brown. Oh okay it’s brown, pardon my eyes -maybe it was because of the lighting on the store, but I swear it’s brown with purple or red undertone in it. Lovely! Usually browns have stronger orange or yellow undertone.

The pigmentation is amazing! Yes, although without any eyeshadow base (especially the two shadows on the left side). The texture is silky and smooth. All of the satin finish are very build-able. If we applied them heavily we can get subtle frosty finish with soft pearlized shimmer, but not glittery. This is just the kind of eye shadow I find perfect for my preference. Most of local brands have a gunk of glittery eyeshadows and I really mean big glittery shimmer that’s just too much for daily makeup. But these are different, I think it’s wearable for both daily and special occasion. If you want to add more metallic effect, apply with dense eyeshadow brush and grab powder eye shadow then boom! it looks just like in the video~ If you want more subtle look, use blending brush and apply lightly, you’ll have a beautiful sheer color.

However, I’m not a big fan of the red one (Vibrant). Without primer it’s a bit patchy and does not ‘vibrant’ as the name suggest^^ haha.

Emperor Brown
SONY DSC
Cocoa. Hot Stone. Sand.
Classic matte finish. I’m amazed by the fact that these matte aren’t chalky! They’re soft, easy to blend, and have satisfying pigmentation. See this video and look how wonderful those matte eye shadows really are! :D

UV Protection
Titanium Dioxide

Ingredients
Mica, Methicone, Glyceryl Trioctanoate, Dimethiconol Stearate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Diisostearyl Malate, Zinc Stearate, Titanium Dioxide, Dimethicone, / Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, Squalane, Nylon-12, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Talc, Quaternium-15, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethiconol, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite.
Another Mica-based product ;) Indeed they last pretty long, for about 5 to 6 hours without eyeshadow primer.

Price & Availability
Rp 79.000,- 6gr for three colors. I bought mine at MakeOver Store Kota Kasablanka.
(USD$6.8 -currency USD$1 = Rp11.615,-)

SONY DSC

Other
– Halal certified MUI (Majelis Ulama Indonesia)
– GMP certified [Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) are the practices required in order to conform to guidelines recommended by agencies that control authorization and licensing for manufacture and sale of food, drug products, and active pharmaceutical products. These guidelines provide minimum requirements that a pharmaceutical or a food product manufacturer must meet to assure that the products are of high quality and do not pose any risk to the consumer or public. Source: Wikipedia]
– For the price, it is relatively pricey compared to other average local brands in Indonesia. Because in general, local eyeshadow trios are Rp30.000,- to Rp50.000,- (say it’s $3 to $5 USD). Except for PAC (Professional Artist Cosmetics by Martha Tilaar), they’re more expensive than MakeOver. And from the reviews I read, their quality is crazy amazing because they focus on stage-makeup products. I’ve never use them though, because I don’t think I need that kind of quality :P Anyway, to think about the quality, MakeOver eye shadows are great and really worth its price. And compared to international makeup brands, this is actually quite affordable :)

Final Verdict
What I LOVE about this product: Brilliant shades, great pigmentation, all the satin finish have consistent textures and finishes, the matte finish are very soft and not chalky at all!
Turn off(s): Well, let’s just hope they modify either the blush on or the eye shadow packaging so that we don’t need to waste any second in a busy morning.

Repurchase?
Of course! ;)

I’ll be on Surabaya for the next three days, visiting my brother who’s a student at ITS :) I will update this blog at the end of the week with another review of MakeOver Trivia Eye Shadow: Love at First Sight and Magical Fairy Tale.

Related links:
More about eye shadow finishes: The Fancy Face – Eye Shadow Finishes & Texture
Review about MakeOver Emperor Brown: The Curly Girl Journal

4 comments

  1. I went to a MakeOver store months ago and I have to say, I wasn’t too impressed by the pigmentation of their eyeshadows. But I think I have to check this brand out again since the reviews are pretty good! You bought some of MakeOver lipsticks right? I can’t wait for you to talk about them :D

    1. aaaw too bad they didn’t meet your expectation~ I guess you really have high standard for pigmentation, hehe.. what brand is your favorite eyeshadow Lucie? :D
      I do have 4 MakeOver lipsticks, but I’m still not sure whether I like them or not because sometimes they’re very nice and moisturizing but sometimes they accentuate my dry lips :/ So I still need some time to try them again..

      1. You’re right, I must have high standard for eyeshadows pigmentation haha. That’s why I rarely buy some. I only have 3 palettes (1 NYX, 1 Sleek, 1 Kiko) and the Kiko one satisfied me the most. I prefer products like Maybelline color tatoos to be honest.

Leave a Reply

