[Review] MakeOver: Blush On – #03 Promiscious Peach

MakeOver is an Indonesia makeup brand that everyone look forward into. It’s very new (2010) compared to other Indonesian famous makeup brands such as La Tulipe (1980), Sariayu (1977), Viva (1962), Inez (1998). I knew this brand in mid 2013 from Agnes Oryza’s blog -although she blogged it in 2012 :P. MakeOver is famous for their eye liner pencils. A few people in FemaleDaily forum said that it feels like Urban Decay’s eye liner –I haven’t compared them though. I first went to their store last year in Paris van Java Mall, Bandung. From the store design and advertorial display I wouldn’t guess it’s a local Indonesian makeup because it was veryy modern and looked very professional. I had tried lots of their products (eye liner, eye shadows, makeup base corrector, loose powder, makeup remover) and I really like them so I want to give the blush on a try. Since my skintone is yellow fair-medium but also has a bit of pink (due to my complexion), I bought the Promiscious Peach shade number 03.
SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Packaging
One word: LOVE. I really like the packaging. It’s sturdy, it’s classy, it’s black. It has the largest mirror compared to 2 other blush on brands I’ve seen (Wardah & Caring Colours). There’s just one miss: it has exactly the same packaging with the eye shadows. I have 2 eye shadows and 1 blush which has identical packaging. It’s a hassle when I need to flip each of them over just to find out which one is which. So, to minimize confusion, I keep them in 2 different drawers for each item types.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC
Color & Texture
My interpretation of the color is soft orange (not pale) with a hint of pink. It’s a very warm color, more saturated than Caring Colours’ Terra Passion. Very pigmented and buildable although it’s kinda powdery. It depends on what brush you’re using or how much product you want to apply. Anyway I just cannot use this original blusher brush although it feels very soft (seriously I don’t understand how to apply blush on with this small brush). If you’re looking for less saturated peach-y orange-y blush, try Coral Cruise shade number 08. If you want strong orange blush, try Caribbean Sunset shade number 06.

Finishing
It has matte finish. No shimmer, not in the pan, not after the application. For those who hates shimmer, be happy because this is definitely for you! :)

SONY DSC

UV Protection
Titanium Dioxide

Ingredients
Mica, Methicone, Dimethiconol Stearate, Titanium Dioxide, Dimethicone, Glyceryl Trioctanoate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Diisostearyl Malate, Aluminium Starch Octenysuccinate, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Squalane, Quaternium-15, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite
It has Mica as the main ingredient. Mica is an alternative to Talc. The different is Mica has incredible skin adhering properties and less cakey than Talc. So, from the ingredients we can tell that it has (potentially) good staying power. Mica also gives shimmer to makeup products, but to be honest all I see is matte finish -you really can’t notice the shimmer.

SONY DSC

Price & Availability
Rp75.000,- at MakeOver Store Kota Kasablanka
(USD$6.51 –currency USD$1=Rp11.526,-)

Other
MakeOver is produced by PT Paragon Technology and Innovation. It’s the same company which produce Wardah (2002) but with different shareholders. Wardah is (very) famous for their halal makeup products here in Indonesia. Does MakeOver also halal-certificated? As far as I know from a few other bloggers, MakeOver prepared their ingredients to match halal standards. It’s just that it takes a long queueing to acquire MUI (Majelis Ulama Indonesia) halal certification so they need to wait quite a while.

Final Verdict
What I LOVE about this product: Lovely color, very buildable, professional packaging and HALAL :)
Turn off(s): They need to modify either the blush on or the eye shadow packaging so that they don’t appear very similar.

Repurchase?
I’m curious to try on the Caribbean Sunset shade. So, it’s a yes ;)

SONY DSC

Further Reading:
http://cantiknyaqonita.blogspot.com/2013/03/review-blush-on-make-over-06-dan.html
http://www.sheknows.com/beauty-and-style/articles/100499/5-reasons-to-use-mineral-makeup
http://www.pti-cosmetics.com/brands
http://makeoverforall.com/product/detail/42/perfect-shade-blush-on-single.html

2 comments

  1. Very nice review Rainrain! You make me want to buy this blush now haha.
    I’ve been in Jakarta for almost a year and a half now and I still haven’t try out MakeOver products! I really need to fix that :p

    1. Thank you Lucie! You really need to try MakeOver products especially the eye liner pencils :) Unfortunately their lipsticks were kinda drying for my lips :”(

Leave a Reply

